Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Having worked on behalf of social justice in Rwanda, Congo, Burundi, Kenya, Thailand, and the U.S. for six years, I have deep compassion for the vulnerable and oppressed.

In the last few years though, I’ve become disillusioned with justice.

I’ve seen promises fall flat despite tens of thousands of dollars poured in to projects. I’ve witnessed the repercussions of authority figures misusing power. And I’ve watched the vulnerable become a commodity at the hands of those seeking to uplift them.

I’ve heard so much hype on justice and seen so few meaningful results that I stopped believing God brings justice to earth except in the lives of a lucky few.

Only recently, in conversations with trusted friends, have I realized it is perhaps the definition of justice I’ve been operating by that has disheartened me, not an actual lack of God’s justice.

All around me I hear justice defined in terms of what it is not, loosely referred to in discussions of injustice, and divorced from the larger moral component essential to its nature.

I’ve spent more than seven years taking a close look at injustice, and I am weary. Scriptures have been sprinkled in here and there. But I’ve rarely looked intently with others at who God is as Creator and Redeemer of a world that seems ever worse in decay.

When I look to Scripture, I see the very God Who created this world longing to see it restored to His original intentions.

In Isaiah 51:5 He declares, “My righteousness draws near speedily, My salvation is on the way, and My arm will bring justice to the nations. The islands will look to Me and wait in hope for My arm.”

I find this promise raises questions even as it rouses hope. I want to explore those questions, but today, I need to rest on the promise and believe His words.

Let us begin 31 Days Redefining Justice with the promise.

quotation-Isaiah-51-5-block

God’s arm will bring justice to the nations. His salvation is on the way. I can wait in hope for His righteous arm.

Justice-Button-250

