Tags

, , , , , , ,

Without any intention on my part, this 31 Days series has neatly divided itself into two parts. The shift in focus conveniently takes place today on the halfway point of the month.

Now that we’ve finished laying a common framework for discussion, I’d like to reflect on Scripture each day.

I anticipate that stories from friendships and experiences around the world will come up while considering Scriptures together. But I think it’s crucial that we focus on God’s Word as we redefine our use of the word justice, so for now I’m putting personal stories aside.

I figured a good way to start daily Scripture reflection would be with a verse on the connection between justice and God’s Word.

Proverbs 2:1 & 9 says,

My son, if you receive my words, and treasure my commands within you… Then you will understand righteousness and justice, equity and every good path.

It is by God’s Word that we know what is righteous and just. It is by His commands that we know the right path on which to walk.

Apart from God’s Word, it doesn’t make any sense that justice is more than a movement or action that establishes fairness and stands up for those who have been wronged.

In the world’s terms, everything about that definition seems sufficient. But I’ve tried to live by that definition and it has left me burned out, bitter, and angry.

So I’m taking a new approach by digging deeper into God’s Word. I’m moving forward with the belief that it really is by His words and His commands that I can understand righteousness and justice.

Proverbs 2 goes on to say, “For the Lord gives wisdom; from His mouth come knowledge and understanding… He guards the paths of justice… When wisdom enters your heart…understanding will keep you, to deliver you from the way of evil…from those who leave the paths of uprightness to walk in the ways of darkness…”1

I want to talk with the one who guards the very paths of justice. I want to tell Him what I see going on, how I’m hurting, and why I’m angry. And I want to hear His response in light of seeing and hurting over the very same things.

I know His response will be righteous and just.


1. Proverbs 2:6,8, 10-13 (NKJV).

Justice-Button-250

