Tags

, , ,

31 Days Not According to Plan

I spent all of today shopping. For the record, that is not this girl’s dream-come-true.

It was kinda fun though because I was looking for items to set up house. Because we have a house to set up!

But that also means we have a house to set up. Between settling in, meeting work deadlines, volunteering, and blogging, I am not a little overwhelmed.

 

Ben and I left the house at 3:00 this afternoon to buy a washer and dryer. Our intention was to leave early so we could get home early – the opposite of what we’d been doing the past week.

Amazingly enough, purchasing the appliances went incredibly quickly. We bought refurbished ones, so there weren’t a lot of high-tech, energy-saving choices to deliberate.

Tip of the day: Look at how blue a dryer is inside to assess how much it’s been used. Very blue = used a lot. White = hardly used. The fantastic owner of High End Appliances let us in on this secret right before replacing the cord on our microwave for free. Great business!

 
Buying the appliances went smoothly. What led to us not getting home until 10:00 at night was stopping at two Targets, two Bed, Bath, and Beyonds, Home Goods, TJ Maxx, and Marshalls.

In the middle of checking out items at Target, my phone alerted me that the play about sex trafficking I’d really wanted to see was about to start. I’d completely forgotten about the play in the midst of the ongoing errands.

 

I’d become used to the simplicity of moving one carload of belongings into other people’s furnished homes. I’d forgotten all that’s involved when moving in an entire household, particularly when you’ve sold many of the large items before moving.

I’d become used to the simplicity of moving one carload of belongings into other people’s furnished homes.

Pardon the lighting – we’re still looking for lamps.

 

Over an impromptu dinner at Bonefish Grill (that was something that worked out beautifully today: I remembered I had a gift card in my wallet as we drove by hungry), I asked my husband what he thought about the possibility of me spreading out the 31 Days of Blogging beyond October.

Merely suggesting the idea created more room to breathe.

It also keeps with the theme of this blog series – sometimes life just doesn’t go according to plan, and that’s okay.

So I’ve decided to spread out the (Not) According to Plan series a bit more. At least until my major work deadline is met next week, I plan to post only every few days. I’ll still write 31 entries, just not every single day in October.

I hope you’ll keep following the series – there’s lots more to share. I still haven’t told you about the dog attack, the trip to France, or the free car!

